Through the window

Through the window, the sky is blue,

the fields white, the sun doesn’t shine.July2017

The cold sparkles off trees, which bend

towards the loch. On the path,

walkers come and go with children

sliding and tumbling in the snow.

 

Before me another season flashes by

in humourless silence. Sarah arrives and says,

“Cheer up Fred. It’s not the end of the world.”

I hear this constantly circling my head

as my mind goes blank, wishing it was.

 

Just about remembering; being active,

taking an interest, having fun

is all I have to keep me going

through the live moments between the darkness.

 

Sarah is good to me. She is patient, very patient.

I look again for her through the window

and hope Spring will soon arrive with light

and a door to freedom; just out of reach.

 

 

Author: Lindsay B Craik

TBD

Leave a Reply

