My Nemesis

I know this road too well,
I travel it so often,
passing through towers of steel,
hurtling towards my nemesis

Stomach lurching
at smells so familiar,
fear scorches my throat
as heads tilt
in that tell tale motion

Metal pierces flesh
again and again,
just a number for
the white coats to analyse

He tells me
I must not give up,
this man who knows my name
but does not know me

I long to be where
hope is an option,
in my dreams life
pumps through my veins,
but it is not to be

So I continue on
this road well travelled,
as my nemesis
marches onwards,
relentless
in its pursuit
for domination.

Leave a Reply

